PhD (Doctor of Philosophy) degrees

Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) degrees are available in every Department at the University of Western Macedonia and develop specialist knowledge in a specific field of study and in relevant UoWM disciplines and subject areas. Studies are focused on cutting-edge original research culminating in a PhD thesis contributing to educational and scientific innovation and advancement.

PhD degrees are awarded according to the relevant regulations for Higher Education.

Regulations for PhD degrees are set out according to article 45, Law 4485/2017 and the decisions made by each Department Assembly, approved by the University Senate and published in the Government Gazette. They are also posted on Department websites and notified to the Ministry of Education and Religious Affairs.

Admissions to PhD (Doctor of Philosophy) degrees

According to current legislation, PhD candidates are admitted to the 3rd study cycle, according to the specific requirements set out in the Internal Regulation of Doctoral Studies of each Department.

Full-time PhD study is supervised by a three-member Advisory Committee and normally requires a minimum of three years.

© 2016

Font Resize